Thursday, January 16, 2014

Stages of Grief

We all can recall a time of loss in our lives and can therefore relate to the important work of  Elisabeth Kubler Ross. Any type of loss can stimulate these stages; such as the loss of a loved one, a job, the end of a relationship, or even the end to an old behavior, as in substance abuse. For the exam, it’s important to know that there is no time frame for these stages and that each stage is not reached consecutively.

A good mnemonic device to remember these stages and there meanings is:
Death Always Brings Deep Acceptance

Denial-- “This isn’t happening to me”
Anger-- “This is not right”
Bargaining-- “I’ll do anything to bring them back”
Depression-- “There is no point of going on” Acceptance-- “Everything will be alright”

Since this material will most likely show up on the exam as a recall question, it’s helpful to relate these theories to your own life so that you can solidify the stages to memory. Try to think of a time when you have either witnessed someone go through these stages or been through them yourself and walk yourself through each stage.

For more licensing exam practice, sign up with SWTP!

No comments:

Post a Comment